Sprouting Wings

Image from Google

Image from Google

 

When I was a kid I dreamt of being older so I can do whatever I want whenever I want, That didn’t turn out as well as I want it to be. Now that I am all grown up I don’t want to grow old anymore, it’s not the thought of growing up that I hate it’s the tasks and the duties that accompany it. Though there are fewer restrictions for being an adult, it is outweighed by the amount of work and accountability that is given to a person. Sure it is fun to be an adult but you have to face the repercussion of your actions. There are rules to be followed and norms to conform.

What I’m so worried about is the responsibility that come with being an adult. You may say that I’m just over reacting and exaggerating. But somehow I know that my life wouldn’t be the same come “THE Birthday”. I know that change doesn’t occur overnight. Of course everything needs time to settle in and be adjusted. I long accepted that change is inevitable but that doesn’t mean I like it.

It’s funny to see that my siblings are far more excited than I am for my birthday, It just shows that they’re getting old and getting really sentimental. I’m not actually “the little kid brother” they use to play with anymore. Now I’m more of a “the big bear that emptied the fridge”. Most of the time, I still act like a child. Being immature sure is fun but is frowned upon. I really am a man who is mentally 8 years old, I like to use the word “mentally ageless” which for the most part is just being stupid.

I can’t believe that I’m on my way to adulthood. Now I’m savoring the last days of my life blogging about it. It’s nerve wrecking to know that I need to be more responsible, to act my age, and to be all adult-y and stuff. Blah! It leaves sour taste in my mouth just thinking about it. But maybe it’s time for me to grow out of my cocoon. And grow to be the destructive moth that I am or a handsome butterfly, either way it’ll be good to have wings of my own.

2 comments

It would be great to hear from you, Drop a comment below :D

