Jose Rizal Pop Art ffrom themuntingprinsipe.wordpress.com

What Would Jose Say?

Going home from Ayala to Quezon City eats almost 2 hours of my time. Fortunately, I have my officemate, Isabelle (not her real name), to keep me from crying for the lost time in the heavy traffic. We would head out at six p.m. to catch the bus, find ourselves standing for 30 – 45 minutes and talk for the rest of the ride.

We would end up laughing-out-loud making other commuters uncomfortable. I even saw some looking at us, clutching their bag like I’ll steal their donuts inside. But who cares, we paid for the ride and we needed something to release the stress from the unmoving traffic.

Another EDSA Revolution  

We we’re on our daily post-work-tirade and ended up focusing on the billboards along EDSA. If you haven’t been to EDSA (you lucky person), just imagine a narrow parking space with lots of billboard enclosing on you.

EDSA Traffic

Image from chemistdad.com

We zeroed in to one of the celebrities that have his face plastered on as many billboard as he could get his dimpled face into. Hair wax, clothing line, beauty products, and sardines (I’m not sure about this one) you name it, he’s on it. I was thinking as I look on the massive advertisement, what-the-hell is the population thinking to put the guy’s face all over the metro.

 

Rizal in Time

Bored out of my mind, I loosely connected it to a picture I saw of Jose Rizal, the nation’s greatest hero, according to textbooks and Wikipedia  (LOL). In the image, Rizal is donning the latest hair trend, undercut.

images

image found in twitter

Yes, the renowned novelist, the ophthalmologist by profession, key member of the Propaganda (allegedly?), implied by Philippine law to be one of the national heroes, (Wikipedia, 2016) was digitally made to sport the trendy hairdo. Again, I was left to wonder, what-the-hell the population was thinking.

Going a little bit off tangent, I wondered what the national hero would say if he could time leap to this era and saw what the beloved country has become.

Here’s what I think he’d say:

Dr. Jose P. Rizal, National Writer/ Hero Extraordinaire

The dissemination of the information today is miraculous; I wish I have this back in Hong Kong and have published these words before my death.

“I desire, furthermore, to let those who deny our patriotism, see that we know how to die for our duty and for our convictions.”What matters death if one dies for what he loves, for his motherland, and the beings he adores?” 

But, with the ease of communication the voice becomes noise wanting attention and it does not give respect. The regale of an opinion, the stature of a manuscript, the genuine letters of love and veracity of events is polluted as the air you breathe. And, how does this book of faces give law degree as people become judge and jury? What is Wattpad?

A maiden that was once hurt but dignified has lost its luster and given into the lust of the world and has committed polygamy to greed, power and self preservation. Opening her legs to foreign hands, and slitting her wrist for attention, makes her taste the delusion of comfort. Why are hotels renting out rooms for 3 hours for group study? Aren’t there any libraries in universities?

What matters death if one dies for what he loves, for his motherland, and the beings he adores? This is a question I can’t answer as she died with her glorified tresses cut and her children mangled and distorted.

To those who denied our patriotism, see that we know how to die for our duty and for our convictions. See now what you made of what we died for.

Ouch shots fired. But I thought, why stop with Rizal, when other heroes can put their two-cents on the matter (fictionally).

Antonio Luna, the Fierce General

PUNYETA!!!

 

What do you think the heroes would say when they see what the country has become?

2 comments

  1. Found you through the A-to-Z Challenge sign-up list… Couldn’t find any A2Z posts, but I loved your writing voice—so I’m hoping you’re just a tad late with posting 🙂 I’ll be back either way!

    Greetings from the other side of the world. Literally 🙂
    Guilie @ Life In Dogs (and member of co-host Damyanti’s team, D’s Company )

It would be great to hear from you, Drop a comment below :D

